Gerontological Clinical Nurse Specialist
Award Description

The ANCC Certified Nurse Awards -Gerontological Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS-GRN) is an annually held recognition that the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) Certification grants to an eligible ANCC board certified Gerontological Clinical Nurse Specialist for his/her significant contributions to their specialty field of professional practice, education, research or service in the areas of innovation, collaboration, leadership and professional risk taking, and patient-centered care. Official awards are presented in conjunction with Certified Nurses Day each year.

Nominations are accepted from the following:
  • Administrators, nursing directors, supervisors, etc.
  • Physicians, interprofessional colleagues
  • ANCC board-certified nurses
  • Members of American Nurses Association (ANA) or any of its constituent or state nurses associations
  • Volunteers of ANCC, ANA, and American Nurses Foundation
  • Patients
Eligibility: All nominees (nominated nurses) must be currently certified by ANCC. Nominated nurses must have made significant contributions in the area of professional practice, education, research, or service. Nominations are judged on the following criteria elements: 1.Innovation 2.Collaboration 3.Leadership and professional risk taking 4.Patient-centered care Exclusions: Sitting members of the ANCC Board of Directors, ANA/ANCC employees, and members of the Nominations/Awards Committee are not eligible for nomination. No self-nominations are accepted.
Additional Information
Nomination for this award is currently closed.